Resident Spotlight: Dorothy Missfeldt


Posted by Kia Crawford on February 2nd, 2015 in Alpharetta, GA | No Comments

I was born Dorothy Ebbert in 1917 in Whitewater, WI . Our family, to include two brothers, eventually moved to a farm in Ft. Atkinson, WI. I recall during my childhood days driving a horse-drawn wagon with a dragging machine attached, for the purpose of picking up rolls of hay and tossing them into the wagon. When my brothers and I wanted to go to another town about 11 miles away on July 4th each year to experience the fireworks, the chores had to be done before we could leave.Dorothy Missfeldt

Even though my ambition was to be a nurse, one of my teachers suggested I would be great as a math teacher due to my interest and abilities with numbers. So I went to college to be a teacher but after 18 months it was necessary that I leave school to take care of my mother who was quite ill.

Later I married our neighbor, Merton Missfeldt, who was a widower with two girls, ages 10 and 15 years old. We soon had another daughter, Connie. Our family lived in a new home on a farm as Merton’s previous home had burned down. My husband’s business was to go from farm to farm in his truck and grind feed for his customers. For several years I worked as a bookkeeper for NASCO, a mail order business. After my husband passed away we sold the farm and moved to a home in Atkinson where I lived for 27 years prior to moving in with my daughter and son-in-law here in Georgia.

Over the years my hobbies included various crafts and while at the store one day I bought a couple of paint-by-number kits, falling in love with painting. It is never too late and at 80 years old my interest in watercolor was born. My room is filled with some of my artwork, primarily birds and scenery. The time came when I required additional assistance and it was felt that I needed to be involved in more activities, therefore, a move into assisted living was imminent. After two years in another assisted living community I recently made the move to Dogwood Forest of Alpharetta where I am currently adjusting to my new home, making new friends and participating in the communities activities.